Poets logo

Centuries, Divided

When the Past Meets the Present

By Elizabeth ButlerPublished 19 days ago 1 min read
Top Story - June 2024
Credit - Vladymyr Lukash

U wot m8?

U don’t talk proper.

I most c'rtainly doth!

P'rhaps t is thee.

Wot u tryin say?

That I talk wrung?

I am not implying,

I knoweth!

U sayin I’m stupid or sumthin?

Ugh! Slimy mooncalf!

U mad, no cap!

I am sick when I do look on thee.

U make me sick 2 m8.

I’m m're sophisticat'd,

Thou Speak in tongues.

Dunno wot u say,

But I talk write.

Concur to disagreeth,

Living centuries apart.

U can’t change my mind m8,

Liketh thee with I.

performance poetryhumorFor Fun

About the Creator

Elizabeth Butler

Elizabeth Butler has a masters in Creative Writing University .She has published anthology, Turning the Tide was a collaboration. She has published a short children's story and published a book of poetry through Bookleaf Publishing.

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For FreePledge Your Support

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Add your insights

Comments (18)

  • JBaz15 days ago

    Me thinkith this be of the hilarious nature and forsooth a hoot. This had me in stitches. Congratulations

  • Congratulations on your top story.

  • Cindy Calder15 days ago

    Congratulations on theTop Story! Loved this.

  • Some great images in this manic stream of words

  • Margaret Brennan15 days ago

    congratulations on TS. This is fantastic. Unfortunately, I know people who still speak, "WEIRD" and several are highly educated. OH well.

  • Kendall Defoe 15 days ago

    This is very impressive!

  • Novel Allen15 days ago

    It sure is fun using the old words with the new. Love the Konversashun. Congrats.

  • Andrea Corwin 15 days ago

    Oh, yes, Congratulations on TS 🎉🥳

  • Andrea Corwin 15 days ago

    this is GREAT! I loved it, so clever.💕 It is something more difficult to write.

  • shrey 15 days ago

    honestly i'm not good at typing. every lines made me "oh wait! you're missing something" . gr8 ! loved it!

  • Hilarious mismatch between the eloquent and the more common lol

  • Super fun meeting of two styles! Congrats on top story! 👏🥳

  • Christy Munson15 days ago

    So fun! Congratulations on Top Story! 🥳

  • Aiman Javed15 days ago

    Amazing writing

  • bruno boby15 days ago

    Woww

  • Manisha Dhalani18 days ago

    This is amazinggg! I was chuckling halfway. Nice one!

  • Hahahahhahahahahaha omggg this made me laugh so much 🤣🤣🤣🤣🤣🤣🤣🤣🤣🤣

Elizabeth ButlerWritten by Elizabeth Butler

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.