Poets logo

I will not become

a poem that reflects on past trauma and a rally to not fall to the experience.

By Jennisea RedfieldPublished about a year ago 1 min read
Like
I will not become
Photo by Kevin Wenning on Unsplash

Innocence stolen,

love tested.

the pain of living with

mistrust,

the horrors of slain purity.

Over and over and over again.

Even with him gone;

the smell, the taste,

the feeling and torture

lingers, like invisble

smoke.

Living day by day,

blank and dull,

slowly,

ever so slowly,

sinking into the tar pits of distress.

Marring flesh.

Then...

Realization.

He's gone.

Never to mark

another with his

venomous touch.

And

I will not bow down!

I will NEVER let another strike me down!

I will not let the

melancholic ebb of

a half-life rule over my mind

anymore.

I won't become

one of the

Walking Dead.

heartbreaksad poetry
Like

About the Creator

Jennisea Redfield

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.