Poets logo

NIghtime routine

how i unwind after long days

By Jennisea RedfieldPublished 2 years ago 1 min read
Like
NIghtime routine
Photo by Alexander Mils on Unsplash

The lights have been dimmed,

The food and drink are now stored away.

My children are fast asleep, soothing, and deep.

And now, I can let my thoughts scurry and stray.

Switching out my jeans for butter soft shorts,

Undoing my hair, clips, and pins in the air

I grab the silkiest, softest and warmest blankets,

And then I stop and stare

At the bookshelf for my newest escape, finding none.

The kettle is croaking, whistling and chuffing,

The cider so sweet and bubbling.

Every night, my routine is shuffling.

The dogs by my side,

The television lights on.

I can hear the river bade and tide.

A movie, something scary

Something that makes me jump,

A movie that makes me flinch.

But for, I pop some kernels.

Add some sugar, just a pinch.

My cider ready to drink,

My body curled in my chair.

I pick something new.

Something that makes me aware.

And as the river burbles,

And my drink bubbles,

My dogs grumble,

And my baby mumbles,

I can sit back and relax,

Find comfort in the popcorn snacks,

THe lights are dim,

And the movie is in,

That start my night,

And give me delight.

I may not be for you, but...

What are you going to do?

excerpts
Like

About the Creator

Jennisea Redfield

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.