Poets logo

I Watched You Fall

A Poem About Loss

By Emily Marie ConcannonPublished about a year ago 1 min read
1
I Watched You Fall
Photo by Marek Studzinski on Unsplash

What was it that caused you to slip away?

Was the fruit too much for you to stay?

I saw the maiden resplendent in light,

And you, oh Adam, glorious with might!

Oh, how have you fallen from grace, son of man!

The maidens are lost, never the same!

By Sunny Ng on Unsplash

My name is Uriel, the guardian of Salvation.

I watched every rise and fall of nations.

I watched you crawl out from Eden, despised and wretched.

I saw your spirits depart, forever disconnected.

The flaming blade in my hand was placed.

To forever guard that sacred space.

By Ricardo Gomez Angel on Unsplash

Your forms now twisted and writhed in misery,

Can you ever find the long lost mystery?

The rains of heaven fall down on your face,

Attempting to wash your ugly disgrace.

My name is Uriel, a failure am I.

I did not protect you or head the On High.

By Simon Berger on Unsplash

Paradise lost. Paradise Forsaken.

Forever hidden behind the fiery curtain.

But you, like children, glistening gold,

If only we angels did what we were told.

In blissful unity today, you'd stand,

But instead, you're lost in the desert's sand.

By British Library on Unsplash

My name is Uriel, God's Holy Flame.

The old world is lost, hidden in shame.

By Leonardo Yip on Unsplash

*******************************************************************

This poem is based on a dream about the lost world. A single beam of light lingered still in the void of the Universe. The name Uriel echoed over and over in my mind.

Thank you so much for reading :) :) Much love!

nature poetry
1

About the Creator

Emily Marie Concannon

I am a world nomad with a passion for vegan food, history, coffee, and equality.

You can find my first novel on Kindle Vella here: https://www.amazon.com/kindle-vella/story/B09V4S7T4N :) I appreciate all your support and engagement! :)

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.