Poets logo

I WAS - I AM

(MY LIFE IN PARAGRAPHS)

By S Nicole CallahanPublished 3 years ago 2 min read
Like

I WAS - I AM (MY LIFE IN PARAGRAPHS)

By SLangley

I was young when I had started to cast my pearls before swine,

Mistaking sex for love was the biggest flaw of mine.

Grew up without my daddy, so I was attracted to older men

Of course, all the things I know now, are what I needed then.

I was confident until timidity had come to take its place

I was courageous and I was vibrant until my spirit lost its grace.

I was as delicate as a flower and as pretty as could be

Until I boarded a “(relation)ship” that floated me right into misery.

I was mentally stable, until I became confused,

And I was also quite the giver until I started feeling used.

I was submissive until trust was broken, and peaceful until warring began

I was quiet until silence was knocked out of me by man.

I was living in front of people but hid my life very well

They never saw the bruises or my eyes when they would swell.

They never knew I was strangled or about the scars all over my heart

I was too ashamed to tell them, didn’t know where I would start.

But now I’ve overcome, more than a conqueror I am

Got my stuff together, had to change my life program.

I am positive and assertive, fear cannot come take its place

I am brave and I am lively and I am living under grace.

I am strong like a rock and as beautiful as can be

And I only board the ships headed towards my destiny.

I am able to think and reason clearly, clothed in my right mind

Confusion - a thing of that past that I have left behind.

I am giving where help is needed, and will not be taken advantage of

I gained obedience and tranquility, and my heart is full of love.

I am the strongest of voices and no one can ever again take that away again.

I will shout upon the mountain tops and in the end I always win.

Although I prefer to be in the background I am never out of sight

For I now have beauty for ashes, and instead of darkness I now have light.

My skin is all one color and my eyes are bright and brown

My neck is encompassed by gold, and those scars are now jewels in my crown.

Although I was abused, and although I still may fall

I am delivered, I am healed and I am standing tall.

inspirational
Like

About the Creator

S Nicole Callahan

S. Nicole Callahan is an upcoming writer, author and living work who has a vast amount of fiction and nonfiction to share with the world.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.