Poets logo

I Was Home-schooled

Life lessons

By The Dani WriterPublished 3 years ago 2 min read
6
I Was Home-schooled
Photo by jcob nasyr on Unsplash

The place I learned to swim

also the place I nearly drowned

taught fearlessness as a lesson objective.

Remained unfazed by genuine tears.

They’ll moisten soil for freesias next spring.

Love surrounding in such splendor never worried

so neither did I…did they…did we accept hesitation

when truth brazen and voluptuous ran its hands

over our limitlessness covered in finite flesh

that held no foresight of how quickly time would pass.

First steps a signal for hide and seek among the memories,

losing myself in textured aromas so luxurious

I personified defiance of the ordinary.

At the very least,

all-encompassing miraculous as the everyday

forever shifts perceptions.

Without question

I accepted streaking stars through clear as crystal constellations

after reservoirs of warm spicy apple cream-blessed dumplings

that Mama made when wintry school days ended.

Tastebuds acclimated to diverse delicious pleasures

that made eyes grow wild,

develop insatiable seductive yearning

carrying legs as fast as they could run

through seas of Easter lilies.

Up steep grassy hills for endless turns at logroll tumbles.

Around grownups mid-conversation, not meant for children’s ears.

Under scents of just-baked banana bread and coconut cakes for worthy cause bake sales.

Over scrub, bush, and stinging nettles,

crying across shortcuts as my name reverberated about the neighborhood

because if someone had to call

you were late.

Mandatory classes in accountability.

Age not a condition.

Excuses were for babies.

More expected of you.

Demanded.

Growth with guidance.

The place I almost died, also the place I attained rebirth.

Effervescent experiences, fantasies, and destinies refusing confines of description

now capitulating to age-old terminology

for me to just call it home.

Pre-pandemic home...I sooo miss it!

A heartfelt thank you for taking the time to read my poem. It is so very appreciated! You are more than welcome to read more of my work here.

If you would like to demonstrate support of me or any of the Vocal Creators, please like and share our work. It encourages us to keep doing what we love doing.

And just in case you were wondering, tips from all written pieces are direct deposited into my bank account and are valued highly, irrespective of the amount, but only if you can manage them. The joy a writer receives from being tipped is from having feelings of acknowledgment and validation. "My written voice resonated with someone!" That is what it means for me and many others. I am just as joyous when you share my work!

I welcome your questions, comments, and feedback @thedaniwriter

nature poetry
6

About the Creator

The Dani Writer

Explores words to create worlds with poetry, nonfiction, and fiction. Writes content that permeates then revises and edits the heck out of it. Interests: Freelance, consultations, networking, rulebook-ripping. UK-based

Medium

FB

Twitter

Insta

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.