Poets logo

I Was Fooled by His Charm

A poem on surviving narcissistic abuse.

By Naya LizardoPublished about a year ago 1 min read
Like
A web of lies that nobody could ever unfold; I tried to escape, but I was too bound. — Image by Adina Voicu from Pixabay

I was fooled by his charm, blinded by his lies,

Unable to see the truth, I was held in his ties.

The narcissist fed me lies and said I had no choice,

I was stuck in his web, my will had no voice.

I had no choice but to succumb to the hold,

A web of lies that nobody could ever unfold.

The promises of love and the dreams of gold,

The narcissist had me, a puppet with no soul.

I tried to escape, but I was too bound,

My mind was captive, my heart couldn’t be found.

The narcissist held me in a dark and twisted way,

Tied me up with chains and refused to let me stray.

But then one day, I found the strength to run,

My freedom was restored, my own power had won.

And now I stand, a survivor of the chains,

My resilience found, my journey with no remains.

love poemssad poetryinspirationalheartbreak
Like

About the Creator

Naya Lizardo

Travel addict, writer, knowledge enthusiast and poetry dabbler. I write about relationships, mental health, and social issues.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.