Poets logo

I Was a Lucky One

To the One Who Almost Hurt Me

By Taylor TitiPublished 7 years ago 1 min read
Like

I Was A Lucky One

I remember how it felt

going out alone for the first time

Your friends are laughing and dancing

watching them throw back shot after shot

I was having fun just as they were

But you were watching

I could see you from the corner of my eyes

Then your hands were on me

Your body pressed against the back of mine

Though you didn’t hurt me

and didn’t follow me

when I left as soon as it happened

You made me question going out

Made me realize what could’ve happened

If I decided to throw back the alcohol like my friends

Things could’ve been worse

I’m thankful my story didn’t turn out like the others

If I was more careful

You wouldn’t have gotten so close to me

You wouldn’t have tried to get me to go home with you

If I hadn’t have gone out

If I would've stayed home,

Maybe planted flowers in the garden of my mind,

I wouldn’t be so scared to do it again

heartbreak
Like

About the Creator

Taylor Titi

Author of the Forget Me Not series. Now available on iTunes, Barnes and Noble, and Amazon.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.