Poets logo

I Want to Feel Normal

My struggles with epilepsy

By Rene PetersPublished 4 months ago 1 min read
9
Under the Lights by Miles Levine

The video that I used is a short film about a high schooler with epilepsy. I was diagnosed in 8th grade with it getting worse in high school. I teared up a bit while watching it because I feel his pain.

* * *

I just want to feel normal...

I know it isn't a real thing

I'm the furthest from what it might be.

* * *

I'm trapped...

In my thoughts

In a dysfunctional body

* * *

I feel alone...

I can be in a sea of people and not know

how anyone could possibly understand my struggles

sad poetryFree Verse
9

About the Creator

Rene Peters

I write what I know, usually in the form of poetry. I tend to lean towards mental health, epilepsy, and loss/grieving.

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Add your insights

Comments (6)

Sign in to comment
  • The Invisible Writer3 months ago

    I couldn't imagine the struggle. Though I imagine it has given you profound strength. The poem and the film were profound. Thank you for writing this poem and sharing it along with the video with us

  • Omg OMG . What a beautiful story. I want to see the film. Mental health and disabilities such as epilepsy and others are important to relay the message to people who fear these disabilities. We are all human with frailtries. I learned about these at 19 in nursing school. Thank you for sharing this movie review. 💜🎥

  • Yes, we definitely may not be able to understand your struggles as we've never been through them. You're such a strong fighter!

  • Shirley Belk4 months ago

    Rene, your poem and this clip are incredible! Thank you for sharing

  • Judey Kalchik 4 months ago

    It’s hard enough to be a teen. I can’t imagine the feeling of isolation

  • Mother Combs4 months ago

    💙

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.