Poets logo

I Want To Be a Kid Again

One more time

By Joe LucaPublished 10 months ago 1 min read
4
Image from Pixabay

I want to be a kid again.

Living in the moment. Not

thinking so much. Not worrying.

Just playing. And laughing. And

eating peanut butter and jelly

sandwiches with cold milk and

thinking they’re the greatest meal ever.

**

I want to be alone and not

feel lonely. Sing a song and

not worry about what I sound like.

Watch a movie and not consider

what it means to me or anyone else.

**

I want to breathe again without

it hurting. Laugh till my sides ache,

and my eyes water while wishing tomorrow

was still miles away.

**

I want to be a kid again with the

world wide open, my heart filled

with promise and sorrow being something

the grownups talk about in hushed

tones over a beer.

**

I want to giggle again.

inspirational
4

About the Creator

Joe Luca

Writing is meant to be shared, so if you have a moment come visit, open a page and begin. Let me know what you like, what makes you laugh, what made you cry - just a little. And when you're done, tell a friend. Thanks and have a great day.

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  2. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  3. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  1. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

Add your insights

Comments (4)

Sign in to comment
  • Babs Iverson10 months ago

    Yes!!! We all do because there is still a child within all of us.along with adult and parent. Oh m, I am channeling psychology 101!!! Fantastic poem & loved it!!!❤️❤️💕

  • Novel Allen10 months ago

    Me too Joe. Only I want to be smarter than i was back then, and know a few more things. Though i dont want all the mess that take away from the innocence of childhood like they have now. I totally get your poem

  • Mackenzie Davis10 months ago

    Aww I feel sad. Nostalgic. Melancholic. Those were the days… “I want to be a kid again with the world wide open, my heart filled with promise and sorrow being something the grownups talk about in hushed tones over a beer.” If that isn’t the best line I’ve read in while…goddamn, Joe. 🫠

  • Rob Angeli10 months ago

    Really nice work on this, capturing those fleeting moments of childhood, and the longing for its return. Well composed poem!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.