Poets logo

I Want!

I Can't

By Veronica ThompsonPublished 4 years ago 1 min read
Like

I want to express my frustration

But I can’t

I want to shout in rage

But I can’t

I want to inflict the same pain onto others that they have inflicted onto me

But I can’t

I want to crawl up in a fetal position and make the world go away

But I can’t

I want to cry until my tear ducts are dry

But I can’t

I am a Black woman and I must avoid the stereotypes that the world has attached to me

If I express frustration I am difficult

If I shout in rage I am a aggressive

If I inflict the same pain onto others that they have inflicted onto me I am petty

IF I crawl into a fetal position and ask the world to go away I am lazy and antisocial

If I cry until my tear ducts are dry I am a weak drama queen

So I will smile sweetly while my heart is breaking

I will speak calmly while the walls of my life are caving

I will embrace the world when I desire solitude

As if I don’t I will be considered just another Black bitch with an attitude

heartbreak
Like

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.