Poets logo

Regret

Decisions that can't be undone

By Veronica ThompsonPublished 4 years ago 1 min read
2

The 28th day of the month of July

Every year on this day, I silently weep, say a prayer and cry

As this was the day that you were to be born

But instead of celebration, this day for me is met with regret as I mourn

I mourn for the life that grew for a short period of time within me

I mourn for the life that I was never able to see.

When you were conceived I wasn't in a good place in life

The man who would be your father, to him I wasn’t his wife

You would have deserved much more than I could provide

Now I know not bringing you here was a mistake, I say this placing my pride aside

At the time, terminating my pregnancy seemed to be the best choice

Now each day I regret never hearing your laughter or the sound of your voice

Ten years later for you I still cry

Knowing that this is one choice I will regret until the day I die

heartbreak
2

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.