Poets logo

I///wandered lone

Sorry not Sorry Wordsworth.

By Paul StewartPublished 3 months ago 1 min read
11

I///wandered lone

ly as a cloud

rain falling

Splinters

s h a t t e r///e d all around

keep stalling

My blood drained

as I s-c-raped the bark

My soul ached

as I hugged the dark

Dark of soul,

dark of the big black

hole

comfortable

can't

see the sun

solemn seclusion,

dark intrusion

c*o* r p s e illusion

can't stand to

feel the misery

course through me

I wandered lone-

as an empty shell

felt the undercurrent

The man I was,

no longer "he"

The "he" I wanted to be,

no longer me

My heart of

darkness

can't stand to

walk through this

though I will

tainted by

sin's red dye

e rod ed by

the rust and *calcification*

of a s-e-a-r-e-d and hopeless (conscience)

gale force storm pulling at me

hard to ignore

mistakes and false promises

Can I shake free from sin's reminders?

there's always

hope

warmth and brightness through my eyes and skin

envelopes me in something

dancing with dead, c-h-a-r-r-e-d

daffodils

that make way for the living

something worth fighting through another day

bird song and fresh blooms translate and

energise me with power

power and hope to see through another day

*

Thanks for reading!

social commentarysurreal poetrysad poetryperformance poetryMental HealthinspirationalheartbreakFree Verse
11

About the Creator

Paul Stewart

Scottish-Italian poet/writer from Glasgow.

Overflowing in English language torture and word abuse.

"Every man has a sane spot somewhere" R.L Stevenson

The Accidental Poet - Poetry Collection is now available!

https://paulspoeticprints.etsy.com

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (7)

Sign in to comment
  • Christy Munson2 months ago

    Remarkable reinvention of a classic. Powerfully accomplished.

  • This was extremely powerful and the daffodils reminded me of Rachel's story! Loved your poem Sir Paul! Hope you're doing well 🍩🥐

  • Facing a new day is not for the faint of heart--not for some of us at least. Though Wordsworth may find it an easy go, we're not all him.

  • John Cox3 months ago

    Fascinating take on Wordsworth ‘dancing daffodils.’ I love how you buttress a kind of death of the old romance poetry (dancing with dead charred daffodils) in contrast with the present energy of ‘bird song and fresh blooms’ as if shaking off the old (former self?) and replacing him with renewal (new/better version of self?). Very thought provoking poem, potent imagery. The use of sin with imagery of blood (red dye) and death gives an almost biblical feel to the piece reinforcing the undertones of death and hopelessness followed by rejuvenation/rebirth. Really fine writing as per always, Paul!

  • Rachel Deeming3 months ago

    Aha! Wordsworth Revisited finally makes it out. Nice one, chum! I love the line "sin's red dye" and your optimistic ending. I didn't think we were going to get there for a minute. I like the way you broke it up. The way it physically looked on the page showed how things are jarring with you.

  • Melissa Ingoldsby3 months ago

    Beautiful 😍

  • Nice one

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.