Poets logo

I've Lost Myself

-C.A.R.

By -C.A.R.Published 3 years ago 1 min read
Like
I've Lost Myself
Photo by Andrew Neel on Unsplash

I’ve lost myself

Thru all the abuse, I need some help

Sittin’ at home all alone

No one to tell me that I’m wrong

I gotta do it on my own

I gotta make a move

I need some guidance

Please see me thru

What happened to my dreams?

Is that all they are?

All they were meant to be?

Never to become a reality

Just things I thought undoubtedly to be true?

Now I’m sittin’ here with nothin’

Without you

I’ve lost myself

My stomach aches at the thought

Racing in my mind, fictional scenarios is all I got

And here I am yet again

And all for what?

This pattern so obvious, so acceptable

To let it become me and change me

It’s regrettable

To say I can’t do it is unforgivable

And to watch the life I wanted pass me by

Is inevitable

If I continue the latter and proceed with the pattern

Then yes, it is inevitable

But what I need to do

What I should achieve in loo

Is actually remember me

And forget you

Too long it’s been going on

Days after hours

Darkness to light

Flower petals to rain showers, it’s true

I’ve lost myself

“I’ve got one life to live and I’ve got nothin’ to lose just me and you”

So more importantly,

I need to reel it in and bring it back to ME

I was too cool for school

Couldn’t tell me nothin’, never replace me, I was stuntin’

Now I‘m down on myself lookin’ for people to hate me like I’m nothin’?

Pathetic to say the least

I let my own emotions rape me, I’m not runnin’

Pour salt on the wounds looking for people to save me, I’m gunnin’

And here I am yet again

Not strong enough to handle

All alone to face the battle and weak

Weak in the knees for him

Never to believe again

Weak in the soul

No longer whole

I’ve lost myself.

sad poetry
Like

About the Creator

-C.A.R.

I've been writing poetry since I was a little girl.

Enjoy,

Crystal Rodriguez

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.