Poets logo

I've Got Power

A poem about the journey so far

By Tanner PeifferPublished 2 years ago 1 min read
Like

I've got a black cherry chip on my shoulder

And a spearmint smirk on my face

I’ve got indigo dripping from my eyes

That a scarlet glare could replace

I’ve got a pocket universe in my hand

And a comet streak in the sky

I’ve got a shepherd that follows my call

And a raven that wants to fly

I’ve got a Venus and Mars passion for life

And a rose colored point of view

I’ve got an aquamarine taste for love

And a tide that glows with the moon

I’ve got a vagabond’s sense of adventure

And an anchorman’s honesty

I’ve got an entrepreneur’s anxiety

And a poet’s tranquility

I’ve got a cracking chocolate truffle shell

And a molten caramel filling

I’ve got a loyal to the soil love

An a tenacity for winning

I’ve got a jet stream five miles in the sky

And a man headed out the door

I’ve got a corvette waiting on my sign

And a mustang on the valley floor

I’ve got a painting of me in the future

And a vision I’m starting to lose

I’ve got a palette that’s never been seen

And a truth that looks like a ruse

I’ve got a sunny side up disposition

And an eggshell fragility

I’ve got stares from the whole population

And a strong desire to leave

I’ve got a fluorite charm lighting up my neck

And a taste for obsidian

I’ve got a darkening cloud that loves me

And a tinted view of the sun

And I’ve got a growing sense of hopelessness

As the world destructs around me

I’ve got a broken bridge to jump across

But I’ve got something I can’t see

I’ve got power

I’ve got power

I’ve got power

inspirational
Like

About the Creator

Tanner Peiffer

I'm an aspiring poet, writing from both personal experiences and surreal concepts, with the goal of inspiring anyone who may read. I hope my art can strike a chord and shift a perspective or two. 20 years old.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.