Poets logo

A Box On The Calendar

A vision of the future

By Tanner PeifferPublished 2 years ago 1 min read
Like

When I’m just a box on the calendar

Your light will fade to blue

When I’m just a box on the calendar

You’ll regret what I did for you

When I’m just a box on the calendar

My name will catch in your throat

You’ll search for solace in photos of me

And the poetry I wrote

It’s hard to say which of us is held tighter by helplessness

One of us with so much to say, the other so much to miss

Soon the box will disappear, as time continues on

You’ll pass the day the casket lowered

The day that I was gone

When I’m just a box on the calendar

I’ll still be like the wind-

Loosely in your presence,

Impossible to pin

When I’m just a box on the calendar

You’ll wish the time had stayed

When I’m just a box on the calendar

You’ll wish the debt was paid.

sad poetry
Like

About the Creator

Tanner Peiffer

I'm an aspiring poet, writing from both personal experiences and surreal concepts, with the goal of inspiring anyone who may read. I hope my art can strike a chord and shift a perspective or two. 20 years old.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.