Poets logo

I Used To Want

A Poem

By Lauren GaylPublished 3 years ago 1 min read
2

I used to want to foretell the future

I didn’t know that to deny the future its ability to unfold naturally

To try to squeeze the world into my concept of reality

Was to disempower myself and all around me

***

I used to want to linger in my lover's arms

To climb his body and feel the surge of his passion

To exhale my desire into the air around us and feel it reverberate with his response

I didn’t know there was no real lover and that he had no response to make

***

I used to want my plans and dreams to overlap with those of another

And I would implore my love to let our hearts intertwine and grow into a vine that would hold us together forever

I didn’t know that presence was lacking and movement was all he wanted

heartbreak
2

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.