Poets logo

I Used to Be Fine

A poem

By Stephanie FeatherstonePublished 2 years ago 1 min read
Like
Copyright Featherstone May 2021

I really couldn't say

What happened to me

Where this person I've become

Spawned from

But I know something's not right

Most days I get by

I can smile and laugh

Convince them it's alright

When deep down inside me

I'm struggling just to breathe

I'm a mess, but I'll try

To keep my chin up

And hide it all from you

Because I know how much

It hurt you to see me that way

So I'll put on an act

I'll keep smiling

So you feel at ease

It wasn't always this way

The truth is

I used to be fine

I wish I could just be me

Wish I could just scream it all out

Tell you how much it kills me

To see you behaving this way

And yet I'm expected to be okay

It isn't fair

It's a mess, but I'll try

To keep my thoughts to myself

And pretend nothing you say

Really troubles me

It hurts to see you this way

But I'll put on a brave face

I'll keep smiling

So you feel at ease

It wasn't always this way

The truth is

We used to be fine

sad poetry
Like

About the Creator

Stephanie Featherstone

I'm just a woman with thoughts and stories in her head, ready to start making them pay rent. I've had a passion for writing since I was 8 years old, and while I wandered away from it for a time, I'm ready to come back to myself.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.