Poets logo

I Used to be a Hopeless Romantic

From hopeless to hopeful

By Nick GrahamPublished 2 years ago Updated 2 years ago 1 min read
Top Story - September 2022
127
I Used to be a Hopeless Romantic
Photo by Nick Herasimenka on Unsplash

I used to be a hopeless romantic.

I remember writing love poems about the woman of my dreams,

sewing together Surreal sentences intertwined with love,

I recall the moment when I showed the Woman of my dreams the poems,

I recall how it shifted my reality into a nightmare,

I can still hear the Laughter I received back at my vulnerability,

I can still feel when every chuckle Plucked away at the pedals of the rose-covered Heart I kept on my sleeve.

I used to be a hopeless romantic

Until I was told I was too much of a person,

I was too clingy,

I was too needy,

I was too emotional,

How do you fix being too much of a person,

I started cutting parts off,

I cut off the arm with the rose pedal heart,

I cut off the knee that bent with Commitment,

I cut off the Tongue that spoke about love,

I cut off the fingers that wrote about it,

I used to be a hopeless romantic

I used to be a hopeless romantic,

back when I thought there was something wrong with me,

back when I was a self-inflicted amputee,

back when I thought capitalizing words in the middle of a sentence was me just wanting to take up space,

I'm now learning to be a hopeful romantic

A person who writes not of the love he wants, but of the love he deserves,

A Person who can regrow the parts of him once removed,

A person who takes pride in being "too much".

A person who recognizes that Almost is never enough, and there is no Goldilocks of love.

I am learning to be a hopeful romantic.

heartbreaklove poemssad poetryinspirational
127

About the Creator

Nick Graham

My life has been full of dichotomies, Trauma, but love. Change, but safety. Abandonment, but role models. These differences are shared in my writing and poems with a unique perspective.

Reader insights

Nice work

Very well written. Keep up the good work!

Top insights

  1. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  2. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  3. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  1. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

Add your insights

Comments (19)

Sign in to comment
  • Durosinmi Adedayo 9 months ago

    Loving writings

  • Kris Griffithabout a year ago

    Poetry is the soul standing naked. There is no bigger expression of bravery than to write (and share) poetry!

  • Amy Hallabout a year ago

    I enjoyed reading this piece, well done! I subscribed to you! I am just starting out and would very much like if you have time to read some of my work and if you like it please subscribe! I look forward to reading more of your work!

  • Oshin Oliviera about a year ago

    Learning how to share yourself again after being taught that your feelings and desires are invalid, beautiful.

  • Su cardabout a year ago

    Good writing

  • Noethiger Guerreroabout a year ago

    Nice article

  • caldwell benisabout a year ago

    Good writing

  • Dapo2 years ago

    Interesting turn out of events in a person's life. I was more of a Jedi in my imagination and not much of a romantic. I do recall praying about the kind of woman I wanted. I had so much faith about it. I asked myself, if the person I prayed about can really exist, because she felt to perfect. Well I did learn reality and I did finally get my kind of woman eventually. Thanks for the memories.

  • Linda Rivenbark2 years ago

    Your honesty and courage in revealing your deepest feelings is something to honor and cherish, never to mock and abuse. Keep being 100 percent yourself. The right one will not want to change anything about you. Thanks for this beautiful word picture.

  • Libby2 years ago

    I loved this! So beautiful and relatable.

  • Beautiful poem

  • Kendall Defoe 2 years ago

    I was a hopeless romantic, too. Now, I'm just hopeless... Seriously, I like this one and thank you for it... :)

  • Mariann Carroll2 years ago

    Bravo , Well written

  • Natalia Grin2 years ago

    Unique perspective indeed. Amazing poem.

  • Tamara Graham2 years ago

    I am crying, as usual, at the honesty, and openness, and realness…you are an amazing writer. Thank you.

  • Jessi2 years ago

    lovely! very much enjoyed this read and look forward to more like it.

  • Sabrina Weiss2 years ago

    This is amazing. Great work

  • Danielle Gibson2 years ago

    This is so beautiful 👏👏👏

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.