Poets logo

I think they buried him in Colusa

Survivors at war

By Lisa HerdmanPublished about a year ago Updated about a year ago 1 min read
2
I think they buried him in Colusa
Photo by CA Creative on Unsplash

For the ones still standing:

I never liked you

But here in the grass you’re soft

Holding folded flags

---

I want to say I spent every moment

celebrating with him.

The phone calls went on for hours,

talks on the edge of epiphanic.

-

I wish I could imagine how he stood

on the other end of the line,

or how he spent his day.

-

But I don’t know his middle name.

-

He started and ended in a far place.

Every part of him, a revelation,

a house I didn’t know had been built

or renovated.

-

What did I say to him last?

-

Eleven years ages the carpet and blinds

and suddenly you’re surprised

that he collected mystery novels.

-

The hummingbird on the gravesite

could have been a flower or a cross

and I would have still wondered

-

how I missed so much.

sad poetry
2

About the Creator

Lisa Herdman

I'm learning to be wildly inappropriate, ridiculous, needy - and alive.

Thank you so much for all the support!

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  2. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  3. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  1. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  2. Masterful proofreading

    Zero grammar & spelling mistakes

  3. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

Add your insights

Comments (1)

Sign in to comment
  • Randy Wayne Jellison-Knockabout a year ago

    Every funeral I have ever attended &/or presided over, I've learned so much I hadn't known. It always leaves me wishing I had known them better. And there's always more, no matter how long we've known them or how much we've heard. Plaintive words, filled with grief & longing. Beautifully written.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.