Poets logo

I think it’s okay….

a reflection

By Alison BrookePublished 5 months ago 1 min read
Top Story - December 2023
22
I think it’s okay….
Photo by Kinga Howard on Unsplash

I think it’s okay….

I think it’s okay that your

chronic empathic anxiety

fear of rejection

struggle to accept imperfection

impulsive urge to please others and

genuine desire to do good

resulted in an authentic radiance that shined brighter than they could bear.

I think it’s okay that they were overwhelmed by your all-consuming love. That they hated you because you wished they would reject all of the parts they hated about their selves. That they both loved and hated you for being you.

Maybe it’s easier for them to hate you than it is to hate their self. Maybe it’s better this way. And maybe that’s okay.

I think it’s not okay that you

dulled your sunshine

doubted your greatness

replaced happiness with carbs and

compromised yourself.

I think it’s okay to believe you are

bold

brilliant

beloved

beautiful

wild

worthy

wise

whole.

It’s really hard to love yourself

to be uncompromising and

to put yourself first,

but you’re doing it!

And I think it’s okay.

Free Verse
22

About the Creator

Alison Brooke

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (11)

Sign in to comment
  • ROCK 4 months ago

    I am stumbling into what I need to read rather than what people say to read! I broke free from the familial link of enabling, narcissistic parenting, and ran with the TRUTH far, far away, After years of trembling I began to believe in me again. You touched every cell that channels my living with PTSD. Thank you for this incredible piece!

  • Andie Emerson5 months ago

    This ❤️ congrats on your top story!

  • Hannah Moore5 months ago

    I LOVE this.

  • Test5 months ago

    Congratulations 🎉

  • K. Kocheryan5 months ago

    Congrats on Top Story!

  • I loved this! Congratulations on your Top Story! ❤️

  • nice linker5 months ago

    So nice

  • Brian Furphy5 months ago

    I think it's okay that you wrote this for another as if you yourself are not the one who deserves to be put on that pedestal. Stillthough, I know, you don't like the praise anymore than you like the scorn. Yet, you are praise worthy and deserve no scorn or hate because I see you doing your best for others, filling people with your love and visions for change that make the world a better place. Isn't that crazy when you know how perfect the world truly is?

  • Test5 months ago

    Beautifully writtem and so relateable 🤍

  • Omgggg, I felt like you wrote this especially for me because I indeed have chronic empathic anxiety, fear of rejection, the struggle to accept imperfection, the impulsive urge to please others and genuine desire to do good. Thank you so much for writing this! 🥰

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.