Poets logo

I think.

take the nails out of my palms, before I crucify myself

By Ava Myers Published about a year ago Updated about a year ago 1 min read
2
I think.
Photo by Emiliano Vittoriosi on Unsplash

I think my heart is two sizes too big

And it doesn't fit inside my ribs anymore

So I have to wear it on my sleeve instead

For the whole world to point and laugh at.

~

I think my armour is three sizes too small

And hasn't fit me since I was a little girl,

Catching butterflies just to let them go.

Now the arrows in my back weigh me down

And when I fall they dig in a little deeper.

~

I think that my tongue is tied and

Maybe that’s why I can’t tell you how I feel

In the right words that you’d understand,

Maybe that’s why no one listens to me

When I’m crying my heart out at night,

Maybe that’s why everything I say is wrong.

~

I think that my fingernails are sharp on my skin

When I hold myself back from running to you.

They cut deep when I cry out for you, when

I scream out against the pain I inflict on myself

And I wish you’d take away my pain,

Hold me, take the nails out of my palms

Before I crucify myself for all the people I love.

~

I think my corset is lined in barbed wire,

When I breathe I choke on the agony

That is tearing through my broken body.

There is pain everywhere you’ve touched me

And flames in every spot you’ve kissed.

Baby, I’m on fire. Baby, I’m burning.

And I think that maybe, that’s how you like me.

~

love poemssad poetry
2

About the Creator

Ava Myers

I write because my pens give me no other choice.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (1)

Sign in to comment
  • HandsomelouiiThePoet (Lonzo ward)about a year ago

    ❤️

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.