Poets logo

I Swear

(modern heroic sonnet)

By j.e.ridpathPublished 8 months ago 1 min read

I swear I was a Mermaid in another life:

The way sea foam memories crash jagged rock strife,

And with sea salt spray haunting reflections of tears,

I am sat with phantom limb, aching yesteryears.

I swear I was a Goddess in another life:

Dancing ecstatic soul magic to drums and fife,

His heart my rhythm, his adoration my muse,

Ephemeral fusion of Earth tones and Sky blues.

I swear I was a Servant in another life:

Where Master kept me subdued, verbal threats his knife.

Existing only as a Slave to twisted whim,

Broken, humiliated, simply pleasing Him.

I swear I was a Wild Mare in another life:

Galloping through constellations, freedom rife.

When Saturn's magnetic rings caught me in a noose,

Try as he did to tame me, I fought and broke loose.

So, I swear — this life, as a Phoenix I shall rise,

To soar with beauty and refuse my own demise.

love poems

About the Creator

j.e.ridpath

"No mud, no lotus" - Thich Nhat Hahn

Blissful, euphoric

Moments; self-destructive storms -

In poetic form.

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For FreePledge Your Support

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (2)

  • Test8 months ago

    j.e.ridpath, your poetic journey through different lives is vivid and powerful, capturing the essence of varied experiences with brevity and emotional intensity.

  • Gosh this was so magical and mesmerising! Loved your poem!

j.e.ridpathWritten by j.e.ridpath

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.