Poets logo

I Still Do.

An Honest Poem for 'Him'.

By CarolinePublished 2 years ago 2 min read
1
I Still Do.
Photo by Nick Fewings on Unsplash

Do I still think of you?

Is that even a question?

As much as I don't want to,

Of course I still do.

Seconds are days,

Memories are movie scenes;

Replaying over and over in my head,

No matter what I say or do.

I will never forget that night,

Trust me, I actively try to;

When our eyes met, and our paths crossed,

From across the room.

I had never had that,

That weak in the knees moment;

Speechless, once in a lifetime moment,

Between a boy and me.

And then it happened,

Just like that, in a blink of a moment;

As if only a dream,

A pipe dream at that.

By Kelly Sikkema on Unsplash

My eyes met yours,

Or maybe yours met mine,

I am still not sure who looked at who,

Do you wonder that? Because I still do.

Those crystal blue eyes,

With a tent of ivory green;

Like a mix of oceans and spring,

My two favorite things.

If only I knew right there and then,

What meeting you would do;

Perhaps I would have kept looking,

And not kept my gaze on you.

I could have suppressed those butterflies,

Refused to let my knees fall weak,

If I only I had known what I know now,

I would have not looked across the room.

How were I to know what you'd become?

My calm and my craze,

My stimulation, my validation;

The solid foundation I was looking for.

By Jez Timms on Unsplash

I hate you for coming up to me,

I wish you had stayed across the room;

Wasn't that look good enough?

I wish you hadn't chosen to meet me.

Because maybe if we stayed afar,

Our eyes only meeting from across the room;

We would be okay right now,

We would not feel this way.

I thought that weak-at-the-knees moment,

That butterfly-in-my-stomach effect;

That love-at-first-sight feeling,

Was supposed to grow to a forever.

Now it is hard to keep from crying,

When I think about that night;

When my whole world turned inside out,

Or upside down;

Whatever we want to call it,

Meeting you just felt right.

I just don't understand it,

No matter how hard I try;

How possibly could one single look,

From across the room,

Lead to something so quickly,

Such as hello, then goodbye.

I don't want even want to write this,

The memories surfacing back up;

But somehow writing this out,

Just might be the closer I need.

By Marah Bashir on Unsplash

And so one last question to you:

If you went back to that night,

When you looked at me from across the room;

Would you want to do it all over again?

Because I still do.

love poems
1

About the Creator

Caroline

My name is Caroline and I am an avid reader, writer and dreamer. I write for fun and to express all the crazy thoughts in my head. I love sharing my stories and experiences with others!

Wattpad: https://www.wattpad.com/user/caroline_1626

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.