Poets logo

I stapled my wings to the earth

Now I Am Just Waiting To Die

By Just DanielPublished 2 years ago Updated 2 years ago 3 min read
1
I stapled my wings to the earth
Photo by Christophe Van der waals on Unsplash

I stapled my wings to the earth,

now I am just waiting to die,

reader discretion advised.

*

I thought I made the right choice all those years ago,

but it seems like it was just a lie

I told myself.

*

I've made it my life motto

to live with no regrets,

and so I shall not,

I shall not look behind me

for I have already reflected, pondered, and taken steps back

for the majority of my time.

*

It used to be where decisions were easy

and all I needed to do was to follow instructions,

but I can't be a sheep,

Not If I Want To Lead,

Not If There Are Many I Still Need to Protect.

*

I could've flown away,

I could've left everything behind,

I could've lived just for myself,

but that was not in my nature.

That STILL is not my nature.

Would've, could've, should've;

those are the words that always plague my mind,

but I still would not do anything differently

for I was able to create good memories

with the ones that I love,

and outsiders looking inside would just not understand,

so I pay them no mind.

*

I stapled my wings to the earth,

crippling my ability to see far and wide, beyond the horizon,

but that was my choice and I stand by my decision.

I am a mere mortal now, living day by day,

not knowing what the far future brings,

with each passing day,

I feel like I am losing more of my sight.

*

The gifts I gave to my loved ones,

I hope they treasure and use it well,

I am changed, but I am me, I am still me,

and all you ever see is the me in the past.

You've been with me too long, you can't see me for being anything else,

not that I blame you,

my journey is long and arduous,

you cannot possibly follow my journey as I have followed yours,

I would not expect this of you.

*

No one asked me to sacrifice,

no one knows of my sacrifice if you can even call it that,

and I ask for no one's acknowledgement.

I do not ask for your understanding though I want it,

I just ask for your patience although I know you might not give it.

*

This life that I have created for myself, for my loved ones and others,

I stand and have no regrets although I severely miss the time I spent

with the ones who truly loved me unconditionally and radiated like

the sun and moon combined.

I am just going about my normal day to days

but I am just waiting for the day I can finally reunite,

free from mortal troubles, pain, and suffering,

death does not scare me but for my loved ones I will not seek for it;

however, when it does finally come for me,

I will happily embrace it, welcome it, to take me on the ultimate adventure,

and where I can finally remove the staples from my wings

and soar above the clouds.

heartbreaklove poemsperformance poetrysad poetryslam poetryart
1

About the Creator

Just Daniel

I write short fiction when I have time. There are also elements of my life interwoven with fantasy that I incorporated into my writing. I also like the unknown, so enter into the dark, true, and mysterious if you dare...

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.