Poets logo

I See You

A letter of thanks to spouses

By Ashley PacittiPublished 6 months ago 1 min read

I see you.

Oh, how I see you.

Making meals, working on yourself, giving back to everyone around you.

Watching over us, taking care of us, protecting us.

Encouraging us to grow, giving us sound advice, teaching us right from wrong.

I see you tending to me, being there for me, adding to your tired tomorrow.

Encouraging me to go to bed earlier, waiting for me at night, and reaching out for me when I finally return to bed.

In the darkness I see you too.

In fact, I see you most then.

I see your struggle, I see how you fight your demons in silence.

I see your pain.

I long to chase it away. To bring you the peace that allows you to feel safe.

And I swear to you, one day I will.

I know you must feel invisible some days.

I forget to tell you what I see, but I do see you.

You are the quiet hero in our lives even if you do not see it.

As we move through many of our days, doing nothing more than just getting through to the next, I realize, I miss you.

Even when you are right there.

Even though we have never been more of a team, never been closer.

I wonder if you feel it too?

That constant yearning to reconnect.

The universe has other plans however, and most days we are lucky to survive.

So as we start yet another day together but at arm’s length I want you to know that I’m still here.

I’ll always be here.

Know that I see you.

I miss you.

I love you.

And not just still.

But even more than before.

love poemsheartbreakGratitudeFree VerseFamily

About the Creator

Ashley Pacitti

Writing the words that I cannot seem to speak, so that one day you might actually hear me.

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For Free

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (1)

  • Test6 months ago

    Beautiful and poignant!

Ashley PacittiWritten by Ashley Pacitti

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.