Poets logo

I See Red

a poem

By Caroline BlockPublished 2 years ago 1 min read
1
I See Red
Photo by Connor Simonson on Unsplash

I live as a lonely redwood tree;

I can only watch as they destroy me

And yet I still stand firm because

If I fell

No one would catch me.

I wish I could shake my leaves loud enough for all the world to hear

Just so they see me

Maybe one day they will cheer

And maybe then their voices will carry and I will see

That I am wanted.

If only.

Though that is not my reality

Everywhere I look, I see blank faces

Everyone I see is not looking at me

Instead they turn their backs and leave no traces

I live as a lonely redwood tree;

If I fell

No one would catch me.

Now red is all I see

The blood of them.

The blood of me.

nature poetry
1

About the Creator

Caroline Block

I'm a high school student who has been writing since middle school. It's what I consider it to be one of my escapes when I feel lost in the world. I enjoy creative writing as well as insightful essays. I hope you enjoy my work!

Reader insights

Nice work

Very well written. Keep up the good work!

Top insights

  1. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  2. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  3. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  1. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.