Poets logo

I See Daddy in the Mirror

Family resemblance

By Tina D'AngeloPublished 11 months ago 1 min read

Daddy was my hero

Looking in the mirror

I catch glimpses of my father

The shape of his face

His almond-shaped brown eyes

He passed his smile to me as well

Even his ears are on loan to me

His sadness and depression

Ignored by the family

Diminished by my mother

Chased away all who did not understand

When I look into his eyes

I see that he also passed those traits to me

My own sad eyes seem to catch me off guard

Every now and then

By the striking resemblance to my Dad's

A blessing in disguise

Our familial dispositions

He was a man of solitude

Who could be kind, friendly, and verbose

When it was called for

His personality was an enigma

Always catching us by surprise

From one day to the next

He could be selfish on occasion

Then, incredibly selfless

Feeding hungry neighborhood kids

From his Gas Station treat cooler

And happily sharing food from our cupboards

To friends when the need arose

He would charge a rich man double to repair his car

Then pass the largesse to the next family

By repairing their broken-down vehicle for free

While passing out ice cream, and soda pop to the children.

He taught me the importance of reading about history

He gave me an insatiable love of learning the past

By sharing his terrifying stories of war in the trenches

Of the Ardennes Forest during WWII

He taught me about his fight with lifelong depression

I always understood him, even when he frightened me

It's a good thing to be yourself

Even if it makes life difficult

If my melancholia was a gift from my father

I accept it with pleasure

It is an honor to be compared to such a man

vintagesad poetrylove poemsinspirational

About the Creator

Tina D'Angelo

G-Is for String is now available in Ebook, paperback and audiobook by Audible!

https://a.co/d/iRG3xQi

G-Is for String: Oh, Canada! and Save One Bullet are also available on Amazon in Ebook and Paperback.

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For FreePledge Your Support

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  2. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  3. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  1. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

  2. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  3. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  4. Masterful proofreading

    Zero grammar & spelling mistakes

  5. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

Add your insights

Comments (4)

  • Test5 months ago

    I See Daddy in the Mirror" is a beautifully crafted tribute that explores themes of familial connection, legacy, and the impact of shared experiences.

  • I'm so sorry no one understood your Dad’s depression 🥺 But I'm glad you did! He is such a noble man!

  • Mark Gagnon11 months ago

    A great way to memorialize your father through yourself. perfectly done.👏

  • Jay Kantor11 months ago

    Dear Ms. Tina - You are an Original Soulful StoryTeller Please see Raise your Voice Comment - Jay

Tina D'AngeloWritten by Tina D'Angelo

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.