Poets logo

I See A Bad Moon Rising

And I Want to Paint It Black

By Diane Michelle CampbellPublished about a year ago 2 min read
Like
I See A Bad Moon Rising
Photo by Laura Skinner on Unsplash

A lunar eclipse could make my soul rest today

The passion of darkness might ease the pain that has tainted me

My heart aches for the return of the night

So that I might be with the man of my dreams

The man who I cannot see during the day

But with whom I sleep at night

I was told that he was a monster

I was told that he was a hideous beast

I was told that because I am useless

A beast such as he was the only thing that would ever marry me

I never wanted to marry before or after they told me of

The prince of the dark heart

The only man I could ever love

I was afraid at first of this sacred curse of the soulmates

Who must never touch in the light of day

Nor catch a glimpse of one another in the dark

I never viewed myself as beautiful

I never liked to be around other people

The thought of a dream lover instead of a husband

Became more and more appealing to me

And I accepted my fate of a life lived in dreams

The only demand I had of all of them was

That I must never bear children to love

I wanted my heart to be dark

I wanted to live in my dreams

And sleepwalk through life

I would be the wife of a Jedi Knight

I was the huntress

The queen of the Sith witches

The secret daughter of Darth Maul

The progeny he bore with the White Nick Witch

Before their tumultuous fall from grace

And now the time had come for me

To become the Padawan to a great God

A Hollow Man who I would never see

Eros the winged love God of mythology

They called me Psyche, the human soul

And on our wedding night

I was led to him under blindfold

The ceremony was brief

Attended by no one in either

So-called Royal Family

After the priest said words that I care not repeat

The God of the sun, love, lust, and heat

Wrapped a rope around my wrists

And led me to a home that he had prepared

There he would cast a spell upon me

And I would sleep for eternity

Never knowing the touch of another, not even he

Because my life would be but a dream

While living as his trophy wife

In a daze called my dream life

heartbreak
Like

About the Creator

Diane Michelle Campbell

I write to be free.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.