Poets logo

I saw you last from across the room

Theatre, baby and me

By Kayleigh TaylorPublished 2 years ago 1 min read
Like

I was supposed to see you first

But I saw you last from across the room

I had felt you before the rest

But I saw you last from across the room

Our introductions started months before

But I saw you last from across the room

Your foot took my breath away

But I saw you last from across the room

Your hand touched my insides

But I saw you last from across the room

I was supposed to hear you first

But I heard you last from across the room

I was supposed to dress you

But I saw you last from across the room

I loved you the most

Even though I saw you last from across the room

Finally I held you

As they brought you close from across the room

Finally I saw you close

Never again from across the room

My encounter with emergency childbirth

To Shelby

Love

Mummy

heartbreak
Like

About the Creator

Kayleigh Taylor

Book, coffee and pet-obsessed writer who loves writing raw truths and fictional fantasies. I hope you enjoy.

Kayleigh

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.