Poets logo

I saw death

Right before my eyes

By Jonipol FortalizaPublished about a year ago 1 min read
Like
I saw death
Photo by Shamsul Alam Topu on Unsplash

I had seen how death engulfed, it was stark.

Hopes and wishes vanish into ashes.

Agony cries out as spirit weepingly departs.

Lifeless temple, gnawing ground awaits.

Faith and beliefs collide to where it will be,

I had pondered through for a unified clue,

Distinct compasses point not to a sole direction.

So I wandered and wondered.

But life has to taste death several times.

Deaths that precede the ultimate death.

Terrible things that numb the spirit.

That brings forth sobs deep within.

I saw death in shattered dreams.

I saw death in a devastated heart.

I saw death in poverty, persecution, humiliation,

and in everything that dampens the resolve.

I saw death in a broken soul.

Perhaps reincarnation will suffice.

A rebirth to once again flap wings.

Like a phoenix that obtains a new life.

A spirit that will fight battles of life.

I saw them right in my eyes.

I heard them pounding as heartbeats.

And felt it..., in me...,

I saw death.

sad poetry
Like

About the Creator

Jonipol Fortaliza

My interests are polygamous in nature. Happily married to Mathematics but I still love Reading, Writing, and a lot more that attracts my pondering thoughts.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.