Poets logo

I Remember You

Distance doesn't always keep hearts apart

By Abbigale DeanPublished 3 years ago 1 min read
1
I Remember You
Photo by Maddi Bazzocco on Unsplash

I remember how we first met

You were just a friend

Until you weren't

I never thought I’d find someone through that

Intricate void people sometimes

Fall into

It felt silly, drifting down a lazy river

When I’d never know the sensation of your cheek

Against mine

The first time your lips uttered those words that echo

I was huddled beneath faded, Paris-scripted cover

Hands fluttering

I remember when the sun first met my eye the next morning

Canary, peach, and pink like the flush of my windblown cheek

I smiled then

Here, in honey-dripping sun, dusty rain, table-top flatland

Where eyes roll, unable to find an end to the great, wide nothing.

I saw only

Your face, your lips, your long, long legs

Your heart as it beat in your chest, driving you to me

In sync with mine

Now I sit alone, looking out at this beautiful land

The distance is far, but I'll see you in the summer

I'll be right there

love poems
1

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.