Poets logo

I Remember

A Foundation of Love

By UglyYummiesPublished 6 years ago 1 min read
1

Whenever I feel

Like we’ve lost our passion,

When our days are dull

And our nights are silent,

I use one little trick

To reignite the flame,

To burn in desire for you again.

I remember.

I remember when a kiss

Was the light in my week

And the first time your lips

Ever touched my cheek.

I remember the day

You found a new freckle

And the day I got mad

Because it hurt when you tickled.

I remember when it was a privilege

To go on an ice cream date

And you waited at the door

When I was 20 minutes late.

These memories of our seasons,

Our phases of love and growth,

Remind me we have a root

Deeper than either of us know.

The warmth I feel

When we lay back to back

Is proof of our blessings,

Not anything we lack.

love poems
1

About the Creator

UglyYummies

Cooking with our minds, our hands, and our hearts to nourish bodies and souls.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (1)

Sign in to comment
  • Test2 months ago

    Fantastic story, Hope Phillips. So creative. Loved it.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.