Poets logo

I Regret to Inform You

A Poem About Leaving Home

By Leif GregersenPublished 4 years ago 1 min read
2

I Regret To Inform You

Leif Gregersen

January 7, 2020

My dad may never know

Because I never had

The courage to tell him

That I always slept better easier deeper

When I knew he was just in the next room

Eight feet away keeping all of us safe

And that

Growing up and moving out

Gave me insomnia

My mom will never know

How many times each day

Each long and lonely day

I sit doing nothing wanting to say

I love you to someone far away

But when I reach for the phone

I’m forever unable to reach her

My brother has just no idea

Of the trail he blazed for me

Or how much easier it was

To go through my first year

Of high school with a brother

Who boxed and lifted weights

My sister will never understand

How much it means to a young boy

To be loved to be spoiled

To be always welcome

In her home

After a fight with our dad

My loving family may never know

The desperate state I was in

When I took all those pills

To try to escape the world I lived in

And how I could no longer cope with

The life I had to make without them

heartbreak
2

About the Creator

Leif Gregersen

I am a dedicated writer, educator and public speaker with a strong desire to increase awareness and decrease stigma surrounding mental illness. I grew up in a suburb of Edmonton, Alberta and have published 11 books.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.