Poets logo

I Recommend the Salad Option

Or, How Mousie gets meals on the housie

By Sonia Heidi UnruhPublished 10 months ago 1 min read
8
I Recommend the Salad Option
Photo by Ricky Kharawala on Unsplash

A bistro is bliss for a squeaker!

The smell of cheese soup would so pique her

That night after night

She'd dash, dip and delight.

They never did catch the sly sneaker!

This poem is dedicated to Lamar Wiggins, one of my most recent subscribers, who accepted my invitation to suggest two words to incorporate in a limerick. He gave me: soup and sneaker. Apologies, Lamar, for getting a bit, ahem, sneaky with this poem!

This invitation is extended to the next two new subscribers who comment below with two words or one theme of your choosing. (With apologies to my already-reader-friends, this offer is for new subscribers only!)

Here's another new-subscriber-inspired limerick:

humor
8

About the Creator

Sonia Heidi Unruh

I love: my husband and children; all who claim me as family or friend; the first bite of chocolate; the last blue before sunset; solving puzzles; stroking cats; finding myself by writing; losing myself in reading; the Creator who is love.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (8)

Sign in to comment
  • Rob Angeli8 months ago

    So cute, love this!

  • Andrei Z.10 months ago

    Oi, let's play this game:) How about doe and dough if you don't mind?

  • Except "Ratatouille" wasn't after cheese. He was all about making the best food ever tasted. Cheese was for his friends & relatives.

  • Paul Stewart10 months ago

    Same as Mackenzie - totally had Ratatouille in my mind when I read this, thanks to the adorable pic too haha! and to echo what others have said, you are great at these limericks! Awesome work and thanks for the morning chuckle!

  • Since your doing Limerick’s how bout one for a lass and a lad

  • Dana Crandell10 months ago

    Well done! I even loved the title ad subtitle!

  • Lamar Wiggins10 months ago

    That was perfect! You went above and beyond the expectation by using sneaker in an unexpected way. I bet the cheese soup was worth it for the little squeaker. Thank you for letting me play.

  • Mackenzie Davis10 months ago

    Ah, I hoped this was another limerick! This one is so great! I'm getting Ratatouille vibes... You're brilliant with these, Sonia, keep 'em coming! 💜

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.