Poets logo

i put you

(away)

By Sara Published 8 months ago 1 min read
4

you’ve been away.

i put you away

because i could no longer

live

with your hand around my

throat,

the smell of you

making my breath

catch.

i put you where

i keep my jars

of spiders

and where the dust

settles

and sometimes

i climb the ladder

to visit

and then

i am up all night

staring blankly at the sky.

i was hoping you would

come back to me

but also that you wouldn’t

because my eyes are dry

and my heart is closed.

i shut the door

behind you

when you left.

now you are in my arms

and not in my dreams

and i know you will

need to go.

but for now,

can you hold

me?

heartbreaklove poems
4

About the Creator

Sara

Don’t look for love.

Be love.

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  2. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  3. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  1. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  2. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

Add your insights

Comments (2)

Sign in to comment
  • Dharrsheena Raja Segarran8 months ago

    I've been there before so this was very relatable! Loved your poem!

  • Arslan8 months ago

    Wow superb 🥰

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.