Poets logo

I present you an iris

a poem

By Emma DatsonPublished about a year ago 2 min read
Like
I present you an iris
Photo by Pawel Czerwinski on Unsplash

This time I present you an iris, I hope you hear its message.

You give me anemones and say you are forsaken,

Accompanied with basil, as you hate yourself so much.

Yet you tell me you want to offer me some cosmos, that joy in love and life you yearn for,

But you can’t stop giving me crab apple blossoms, that ill-temper I cannot abide.

Therefore I give you a dianthus to tell you to make haste,

With a dragon plant as well, to warn that you are near a snare.

You should be giving me eucalypt blossoms, so I feel protected around you,

And petunias, so you indicate your intent to soothe me with your presence this time.

Instead, all you give me are more figs, for creating further arguments,

When I’d rather you gave me lemon blooms for more zest in my life.

Your gift of lavender hides its sinister message of mistrust,

I have no doubt of your offer of heliotropes and its memo of devoted love.

Just know I am over your constant bunches of liatris, I do not need to hear “I will try yet again”,

Finally I give you a narcissus to remind you about the importance of self-love,

And a thistle to remind you that your misanthropy is destroying your chance of happiness.

Or soon you will only have a posey of pansies to think of me,

Do no doubt that I will give myself a clutch of zinnias to mourn your absence,

But you still won’t get the red roses of love, nor the pink ones of grace that you seek.

If you do not give yourself some scarlet pimpernels to remind you to change,

I have done enough, I have had enough, I am too sick for more, note this message,

I present you an iris.

_______________________

As originally published by Spoonie Magaizne.

surreal poetryvintagenature poetry
Like

About the Creator

Emma Datson

I am 40ish, medically interesting, Australian poet, who is finally using her voice. My superpower is my vocabulary. Dive in and read an eclectic mix of poetry and creative non-fiction, full of love, grief and hope. Light, love

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.