Poets logo

I Owe You A Thank You

A poetic tale in honor of my keyboard which puts up with so much.

By Alexandria StanwyckPublished 5 months ago 1 min read
1
I Owe You A Thank You
Photo by Sergi Kabrera on Unsplash

To say a keyboard is amongst the most important of tools for the author, budding or experienced, would be an understatement.

My fingers have flown and paused on the keys once, twice, thrice; truly, I have lost track of the time spent.

Oh, the stories I'm sure it would tell, or truthfully, the complaints and frustrations it would spew.

Woes of so-called abuse, germs that linger, crumbs entrapped in what seems like caverns; I've tried to clean so it felt like new.

However, loyal it remains, always there for every tale, every rhyme I wish for the world to read.

I should tell it thank you more often; alas, I often leave those words left unsaid.

But one ordinary day, as the leaves died and plants bent with every gust of the frigid air, a most unfortunate event occurred.

I happened upon a sight of my recent musical journey in a honored spot; let's just say I was quite surprised.

My body became so filled with excitement, I jumped up from my chair with a great lack of distance perception.

A hand hit a bottle almost empty; I barely noticed as the bottle attempted to remain upright like a solider at attention.

The brown carbonated liquid trickled out, searching for any nook and cranny to fall into.

With horror fueling my veins, I ran for cleaning supplies; why couldn't I have completed a simple task from my mental queue?

I wiped and sprayed frantically, hoping the keyboard would survive and not be left sticky.

Thankfully my partner in writing made it through; sticky keys in the literal sense would have been tricky.

It appears I owe it more words than thank you.

I'm sorry too.

**************************

Word Count: 285

**************************

This poem is based on a real life event. Yes, I spilled some soda on my keyboard recently and I ran around like a manic to make sure it was clean. The things we put our computers through.

performance poetryhumor
1

About the Creator

Alexandria Stanwyck

My inner child screams joyfully as I fall back in love with writing.

I am on social media! (Discord, Facebook, Instagram, and TikTok.)

instead of therapy poetry and lyrics collection is available on Amazon.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (1)

Sign in to comment
  • Dharrsheena Raja Segarran5 months ago

    Omgggg I'm so relieved to know that your keyboard is okay! Lol, I tend to be clumsy too at times

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.