Poets logo

I never liked my Mum’s But.

A poem by Ross E F LOMBARDI

By Ross E Fortune LombardiPublished 9 months ago 1 min read
1

.

I never liked my Mum’s But.

By Ross E F LOMBARDI

.

From the young age, I could listen and understand her words.

I never liked my mum’s “But…”

Look, Mum!

Look What I have done!

“That’s nice dear… But…”

And I could not understand why I did not want to play with that toy anymore.

.

From the age, I could listen and understand my own thoughts.

I disliked my mum’s “But”

Look, Mother!

Look What I have tried to do!

“That’s nice love… But…”

And did not see why I did not want to try doing that project anymore.

.

From an age, I could understand that I had feelings.

I dreaded my mum’s “But…”

Have a look at this if you have time…

It may not be worth it,

But this is what I have tried to do!

“It ok, I suppose, Son… But…”

And Just like that,

Randomly, and seemingly for no reason, I did not want to feel anymore.

.

From that moment, I learned to forever hate myself.

I absolutely loathed my mum’s “But…”

Mother!

This is what I have done!

“You have done that… But…”

And I knew and understood why I refused to ‘be’… …anymore.

.

.

sad poetry
1

About the Creator

Ross E Fortune Lombardi

Writer. Gamer, Goth

A (Constantly Failing To Be Funny) satirist!

[email protected]

Mutare non est meum

Cantus moriar

BLOG:

http://lombot.co.uk

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  2. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

  3. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  1. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

Add your insights

Comments (1)

Sign in to comment
  • Dharrsheena Raja Segarran9 months ago

    This was so heartbreaking! Very well written!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.