Poets logo

I never knew love.. Cause I never loved, enough.

You deserve happiness, so I endure the dagger in my chest, hoping for the best. I'll love you silently, from the shadows.

By Maa_iaaPublished about a month ago 2 min read

I watch you from a distance, you light up every room.

I never knew love until I saw it in you.

Your smile, your laughter, it's a balm to my soul,

But you'll never know, cause I've never told.

I love you more than words can convey,

More than anyone, more than I can say.

Yet my heart is heavy, burdened with this truth,

Cause I never loved enough to have the proof.

I stand in your shadow, admiring your light,

Wishing I could hold you, keep you close, tight.

But you deserve better, someone more bold,

Someone who can offer you more than just cold.

Every glance you give me, a fleeting touch,

It's everything I live for, it's never too much.

But you see through me, just a friend in the end,

While my heart breaks, a love I can't mend.

I never knew love.. Cause I never loved, enough.

I whisper your name in the dead of the night,

Wishing you knew, wishing I might,

Have the courage to tell you, to open my heart,

But fear keeps me silent, keeps us apart.

You deserve the world, a love that's pure,

A love that's confident, a love that's sure.

But all I can offer is a heart full of pain,

A love that's hidden, a love that's in vain.

I see you with others, and it tears me apart,

But I smile, I laugh, while it breaks my heart.

Cause you deserve happiness, more than I can give,

So I watch from afar, and in silence, I live.

Every moment without you, a dagger to my chest,

But I endure it all, hoping for the best.

That you'll find someone, who loves you right,

While I fade into shadows, out of your sight.

I never knew love.. Cause I never loved, enough.

I wish I could change, be brave and strong,

Tell you my feelings, where they belong.

But for now, I'll love you from this lonely place,

With silent devotion, a hidden grace.

So I stay awake, till the morning light,

Hoping my nightmares will end tonight.

Cause in my dreams, I lose you too,

And waking is harder, when it's so true.

I never knew love.. Cause I never loved, enough.

love poemssad poetryheartbreakGratitudeart

About the Creator

Maa_iaa

A Daughter, Sister, Friend, Lover, Warrior—roles I play, words my solace. Misjudged as cold, but within my ink, emotions bloomed. In silence, my truth sings—a poet's heart in every line.

Loving without being loved back takes courage.

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For Free

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

    Maa_iaaWritten by Maa_iaa

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.