Poets logo

I Must Know You

"I thought then, "Who are you? I must know you."

By CaeizarPublished 2 years ago 2 min read
1
Artwork by Alex Cipriano @alexciprianoart

Won’t lie, I was infatuated at first

For how could anyone not feel cursed

At the vision of you so merely skimmed

But soon my care eventually dimmed

At the passing of mere time

+

We’d pass each other at our due stations

And making only friendly relations

“How was your morning” or “how was your day”

Then proceed give experience it’s say

I’d think nothing of you nor dwell on it

+

But at times we’d enjoy joint company

And some act or speech emerge wondrously

Myself in awe at your profundity

I’d then ask, “Who are you? I must know you.”

+

Still doubt always has way of creeping in

And making all my interest grow thin

By the questions of its motives therein

“Mere vanities” I think of pure love crush

+

“They are not so real, they can’t be true”

Shutter and stuff my feelings out of view

But verily time comes to pass anew

Yet your small flame in my heart slowly stews

+

We’re at lunch, jocund in the warm sun

You had your hair in a beautiful bun

Told jokes about something incredible

Imprinting laughter so indelible

I think then, “Who are you? I must know you.”

+

Still, I push aside interest within

“She’s so far above me! Where to begin?”

Cowardly excuses of a has-been

Yet I can’t help but wonder what if

+

Maybe it was stupidity or fate

When I asked you out on our first real date

The fear that night was so very great

As I said we should go for a nice walk

+

Slowly then easily we kept walking

Eventually eased into talking

And some flirtatious and playful mocking

I thought then, “Who are you? I must know you.”

+

Time passes and dating became routine

To think of not knowing you is obscene

In Tiffany’s by my right arm you cling

I summon my wallet and buy that ring

+

The time then has come for me to debut

This final rock metal band I’ll attend to

A chorus of tears and joyous accrue

I say then, “Who are you? I must know you.”

+

Draped myself sheen black, you meet me in white

I’ve finally become your shining knight

Fairest vision of your visage takes flight

As we then perform the holiest of rite

You say, “Who are you? I must know you.”

+

In bed after celebratory hours

Naked we lie in a field of flowers

Before we unleash amorous powers

Close faces fingertip laced, hair bestrewn

I whisper, “Who are you? I must know you.”

artinspirationallove poemshow to
1

About the Creator

Caeizar

Take a drink from my words and see. See the words that make truly me. Let me be your mysterious guide, to unveil the visage I try to hide.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.