Poets logo

I miss him...

A poem to my military husband.

By Arianna Silcott-Lo, MBAPublished about a year ago 1 min read
Like
I miss him...
Photo by DDDanny D on Unsplash

With closed eyes, I hear his laugh,

His scent lingers in our old scarf,

I take a bite, of sweet apple pie,

His favorite dessert brings tears to my eye.

The memories of our lives

Flash vividly across my mind,

From long walks in the park

To passionate, intimate moments in the dark.

His laughter, warm and contagious,

Fills my heart with love and sweetness,

It's as if he's standing right here

Whispering sweet nothings in my ear.

The scent of his perfume,

The essence of his masculinity,

Reminds me of the love we shared

And all the cherished memories we've bared.

The apple pie reminds me of his face,

Smiling sweetly as he ate with taste,

We’d cuddle up in our bed so warm,

With the sweetness of the pie, he'd want more.

The wedding picture frame in my hand I touch,

And feel his presence, it's not too much,

I remember the moment we said, "I do,"

Tears fall down my cheeks as I begin to brew.

I cherish the touch of his hand,

The way he held me when life was bland,

The connection between our bodies,

Intimacy was our language and hobby.

I'm grateful for these memories and more,

Grateful for the love that was once pure,

His spirit lives on within me,

I know this love will always be.

Our love was powerful, beautiful, and true,

It was strong enough to make me feel renewed,

Through time, distance, and heartache,

Our love will burn eternally, no mistake.

I use my senses to bring him near,

To keep our love alive and clear,

My husband's love, still present and true,

Echoes in my heart, like a melodious tune.

He may not be here in person,

But his love is a solid foundation,

I'll always hold him dear in my heart,

As I reminisce on our love from the amazing start.

surreal poetrysad poetrylove poemsheartbreak
Like

About the Creator

Arianna Silcott-Lo, MBA

Just a Doctoral Student & Writer trying to help better the world through my thoughts and skills.

Instagram: @becomingdrlo

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.