Poets logo

I'm Trying To Shake Off Being Lonely

This is it

By Frankie MartinelliPublished 10 months ago 1 min read
Top Story - August 2023
I'm Trying To Shake Off Being Lonely
Photo by Nick Fewings on Unsplash

Time is a killer

It always is

This is it

Her hands firmly grip my wrists

I can feel her

She loved me like nobody else ever did

I wish she would hold me

It's one in the morning,

and I'm trying to shake off being lonely

The one that had actually gotten to know me

It's one in the morning,

and I'm trying to shake off being lonely

Pain is a killer

Always well hid

This is it

Didn't stand a chance against her kiss

If only you could see her

She loved me like nobody else ever did

I wish she would hold me

It's one in the morning,

and I'm trying to shake off being lonely

The one who had actually gotten to know me

It's one in the morning,

and I'm trying to shake off being lonely

love poemsheartbreak

About the Creator

Frankie Martinelli

Musician.

All work is copyrighted, and is my own.

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For FreePledge Your Support

Reader insights

Nice work

Very well written. Keep up the good work!

Top insights

  1. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  2. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  3. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

Add your insights

Comments (37)

  • John Smith6 months ago

    Custom medals is the place where you got all types of customized medals, awards, badges and coins. visit https://custommedals.com/

  • Paul Cosigntheta6 months ago

    that great i really like it and its very helpful for more you can also check for best 2d animation character https://videotoonz.com/2d-animation/

  • Antoinette L Brey10 months ago

    Can really feel this

  • CleverWordz10 months ago

    Beautifully written!!

  • I like this one.

  • Helen Kwiecien10 months ago

    I feel like these words would make good song lyrics!

  • fredicca orode10 months ago

    amazing poem

  • Mackenzie Davis10 months ago

    Your poetry is always so unique, the song lyric qualities pairing well with your rhythmic skill and repetition. It’s a treat to read! The emotions here stand out starkly against a mundane experience of insomnia and heartache. I feel for the speaker. Love this! Congratulations on Top Story!! 👏👏👏💕 Happy to see your name up there at last.

  • Gerald Holmes10 months ago

    Wonderfully written poem! Congrats on Top Story

  • Paul Stewart10 months ago

    This was sublime and totally deserving of Top Story. The repetition took on deeper meaning as the poem progressed. Just...awesome and emotive.

  • Mattie :)10 months ago

    Nice! This gives me Ed Sheeran vibes.

  • Herbert10 months ago

    Brilliant text

  • Scott Christenson10 months ago

    Powerful piece on separation, can't quite tell if the pain was caused by uncontrollable events or by mistakes made. At 1am when loneliness hits, podcasts are great.

  • C. H. Richard10 months ago

    Very powerful and emotional. Congratulations on Top story ❤️

  • Cendrine Marrouat10 months ago

    Congratulations on the Top Story! This is powerful poetry. Love the repetition of important sentences.

  • Kendall Defoe 10 months ago

    Top Story? Yes, indeed. The pain does pass, and life will go on. ;)

  • Lilly Cooper10 months ago

    Breaking up and the aftermath are horrible times, captured so well in your piece. Congratulations on your TS!

  • Anna Boisvert10 months ago

    Beautiful.

  • L.A. Hancock10 months ago

    Really enjoyed this one Frankie. Thanks for sharing!

  • This is Great🎉😉📝💯Congratulations on your Top Story🎉🎉🎉🎉🎉🎉🎉🎉🎉🎉🎉🎉

  • Naomi Gold10 months ago

    Oh I feel this to my core. Very nicely done, and congrats on your Top Story! 🥂

  • Test10 months ago

    This bioke my soul in the most beautiful;way - Thank you ❤

  • Pius Junior 10 months ago

    This is lovely Please help me view my stories

  • Matthew Fromm10 months ago

    Congrats on the top story!

  • Tiffany Gordon 10 months ago

    Outstanding work!

Frankie MartinelliWritten by Frankie Martinelli

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.