Poets logo

I’m That Fat Kid Who Loves You

You know who it is

By Manisha DhalaniPublished 9 months ago 1 min read
1
I’m That Fat Kid Who Loves You
Photo by David Holifield on Unsplash

Why are you there?

Why do you linger when I want you not?

Why do you cause so much destruction to someone who is already broken, shattered, torn from the inside — dead?

Then I stop and wonder. It couldn’t be you.

You would know better than to do that.

Maybe it’s the manipulation of the powers-to-be. Maybe it’s just one of those “putting things at the top of your mind” because, well, they do know that you are top-of-mind. They put ideas in your head that you try so hard to remove, to discard, to throw away, to burn. They know you’re bad for me, and yet, they make you appear constantly.

Maybe they know I would be even more empty without — more than I already am. You, who have become a big part of my life. You, who I know will eventually leave, just like everyone else.

I can’t deny I want you around.

I can’t deny that I wish you never appeared in my life.

I hold on to every moment we spend together, and yet, my mind keeps you on a loose leash now, because that way, when you break free, it won’t hurt too much.

My wrist.

Or my heart.

You. You, who I can have. But, you, who I should not want.

Because you’re cake.

And I’m the fat kid who loves you.

love poems
1

About the Creator

Manisha Dhalani

Content writer and marketer helping solopreneurs achieve organic growth. Loves reading, eating cake, and having insightful conversations.

www.manishadhalani.com

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  2. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

  3. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  1. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  2. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

Add your insights

Comments (1)

Sign in to comment
  • Dharrsheena Raja Segarran9 months ago

    This was very relatable! I loved it!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.