Poets logo

I'm Rooting for Me

A space to rehearse my free verse about what home means to me.

By Ashley GilmorePublished 3 years ago 2 min read
Like
Mijas, Spain

I was just a little seed living in a stable pot of bliss

The smooth soil stroked my impending confidence

Then one day I’m rising above the dirt while the other seeds stayed quiet below

Confused, as I was not supposed to go at this alone.

I was plucked by a system unknown to me at the time

Walking unfamiliar pavements with a pit in my stomach

No guidance, no rule book, no explanation

Like a caterpillar expected to impersonate a butterfly.

The alkaline water that used to nourish me soon came from a tap

The plant food that made me flourish converted to scraps

The brightness I once felt became a habitual glare

Impairing my view, only showing despair.

My insides started to wilt, but my outside continued to shine

I was not going to give this world the satisfaction to watch me decline

I wanted everyone to know there was a flower blooming inside of me

I would be the sunshine of my own destiny

I just needed to discover my flowerpot of contentment.

Mi casa es su casa quickly became a phrase that was only said and not done

I slept in the cracks of a bench hoping no one would find me

Wept in a parked car avoiding onlookers who would judge me

Lived in a Terra-Cotta pot filled with other seedlings desperate for repair.

Leaving imprints of my damaged leaves in every vessel I encountered

Making pit stops along the way to fill my jar with fragments of will power

As I endured my expedition, the resilience within me never wavered

Continuously picking myself up by my root-straps.

Today I use my past as a way to live my reality

I am no longer a foreigner in my own journey

Just living vicariously through myself

As my source of pain is now my way of life

Once a lost passenger, now a driver with many directions.

A word to the foliage that feels lost and forgotten

There is a whole world waiting to be seen

Home is planting many seeds

Home is uprooting

Home is growing through the gloomy days

Home is basking in the sunny days

Home is the perspective you embrace.

nature poetry
Like

About the Creator

Ashley Gilmore

Writing to have some fun! Life is too short to not do the things you love. Making the most of my time here.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.