Poets logo

I'm only half a daughter

A poem from a daughter's perspective on the absence of her father in her life.

By Britt Blomster Published 3 years ago 1 min read
11
I'm only half a daughter
Photo by Vladimir Fedotov on Unsplash

Like a boat without an anchor

A lighthouse without a beacon

Questions without an answer

A year with a missing season

I’m only half a daughter

Heart that beats with anger

Sick with emotional cancer

With you, I’d be stronger

All alone, it’s a slaughter

I’m only half a daughter

My creation was not my choice

You’ve never listened to my voice

Is it my empathy or my gender?

Do you see me as the offender?

I’m only half a daughter

You’ve hurt me, I won’t sugarcoat

No love, no kindness, so cutthroat

Years of words that cut like a knife

You’ve never wanted me in your life

I’m only half a daughter

sad poetry
11

About the Creator

Britt Blomster

I'm a writer, poet, storyteller and dreamer. I'm inspired by the world around me and channel that into my writing.

Blog:

Facebook

Instagram

Medium

E-mail: [email protected]

My Twitter

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.