Poets logo

I'm Not A Princess

Being a Girl Means So Much More

By SamihaPublished 3 years ago 2 min read
1
I'm Not A Princess
Photo by Alice Alinari on Unsplash

Woah, I'm not a princess,

A damsel in distress,

Wearing a sparkly dress,

Waiting for you to undress

Me under the bedsheet.

When you think I'm meant to be syrupy-sweet,

But in reality, I can also be a beast.

I'm bittersweet!

Oh, I don't listen and obey

To all the words you have to say,

Playing a doll and following your way

Until I'm old and grey.

I'm not Cinderella standing with patience,

Clad in a ball gown with a stunning appearance,

Holding your hand and obeying for a dance,

Possessing a 'good girl' stance.

I'm not Aurora waiting for your true love's kiss,

Nor Snow White ready to clean your dish,

I don't bow to every command that you wish,

I'm not a doll who sits, smiles, and flourishes.

Like Ariel, I stand independently on my own two feet.

Like Belle, I smile sickly at whoever I meet.

I can earn my own bread and wheat,

Like a man, I can get everything I want in a beat.

Don't let my gender fool you, I don't need to be rescued

With your money, shelter, and food,

I can snarl, snap, and be rude,

I have a dream that has to be pursued.

I can work myself,

Without your damn help,

Trust me, I won't yelp,

I'm a girl who can do everything by herself.

Like Rapunzel, I have a dream

That sparkles and gleams

With the rise of every morning beam,

Trust me, I don't need you even when I scream.

If I'm a tomboy,

And you a playboy,

I ain't letting you destroy

by playing me like a toy.

Once again, I'm not a princess in a fairytale

Waiting to be rescued from a mighty dragon with a scale,

I'm not a girl weak and frail.

I'm a Queen, and I'll never wail.

I wear my crown high,

Without the support of a king or a guy,

If I had a sword, it'd reach the sky,

Don't ask me why

Cause I'm smarter than a smiling doll,

I'm wiser, trust me, I won't fall.

It's not you that I'll ever call.

The bottom line is, I don't need you at all.

inspirational
1

About the Creator

Samiha

I'm a fan of poetry. I'm in love with words that are created through imagination.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.