Poets logo

I'm lost

"following the laughter"

By Gloria PenelopePublished 15 days ago 1 min read
3
I'm lost
Photo by Finding Dan | Dan Grinwis on Unsplash

The chuckling comes from a distance.

There is no trace of people.

There are no signs of footsteps either.

Walking through a dry desert.

I am alone.

I am looking for my friends.

We came together.

A strong wind is blowing.

The wind and dry earth separated us.

The desert soil distracted all of us.

But I'm here.

Perhaps I will see them.

Maybe they're dead.

I regret ever coming here.

I am left alone.

In the midst of an empty space.

I don't recall where we left our car.

My water bottle is lost.

I am thirsty.

I cannot see anyone.

Oh! What do I do?

Where should I go from here?

laughter

Ah, human laughter.

they are laughing

The sound seemed to be everywhere.

The wind controls the sound.

Which way should I go?

I'm lost.

I'm lost in this desert.

Are my buddies still alive?

Are they the ones laughing?

I need to find them.

Everyone is laughing.

I need to follow the sound of their laughter.

I shall continue walking.

Oh, I see color.

Maybe it's them.

Oh! Yes, someone is calling my name.

I am going there.

Now there's hope.

Wow, there they are!

But only two.

We were five.

Two of them are not there.

Perhaps they are also lost.

Perhaps they are gone.

gone to look for me.

I'm glad that I'm not alone!

Now there's hope.

Oh, yeah, those two are on the other side.

We met again.

At last

We're all back together again.

Friendshipnature poetryhumorhow to
3

About the Creator

Gloria Penelope

Every creative piece is just me telling a story. Enjoy my creative writing!

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (3)

Sign in to comment
  • Emos Sibu Poriei (Kaya)14 days ago

    This is so positive! I love it! 😊❤️

  • Manisha Dhalani15 days ago

    I felt the fear in the beginning of this poem and then the hope towards the end. Nice one.

  • Fantastic poem! Amazing! 🇮🇱

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.