Poets logo

I'm In My Corner

Rooting for myself

By Manisha DhalaniPublished 2 years ago 1 min read
60
I'm In My Corner
Photo by Tim Scalzo on Unsplash

The corner.

Where I sat by myself

With a doll, a book or my imagination

Where I had thoughts

That made me who I am

Where I found myself alone

Even with a room filled with people

Where I found my gifts

A spotlight of my own

Where I realised

I had talent, passion, grit

To continue staying

In my own corner

Comfortable where I am

Cheering myself to glory

But sometimes I wonder

If

The only opponent I have

Facing me

Is myself.

And if the answer is

Yes

Then I want to let myself know

That I'm ready to fight

These evil thoughts

Step out of comforts

To get comfortable

With being myself.

inspirational
60

About the Creator

Manisha Dhalani

Content writer and marketer helping solopreneurs achieve organic growth. Loves reading, eating cake, and having insightful conversations.

www.manishadhalani.com

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  2. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  3. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  1. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

  2. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  3. Masterful proofreading

    Zero grammar & spelling mistakes

  4. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  5. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

Add your insights

Comments (36)

Sign in to comment
  • Bonnie Bowerman2 months ago

    Lovely!

  • Gia St. Thomas2 months ago

    Insightful read. Love it.

  • Ann DiAngelis2 months ago

    I like this poem. Thank you for sharing.

  • Rebecca Patton3 months ago

    This was an inspiring piece of work! It is good to spend time with yourself, but it is also really important to go out of your comfort space and grow! Good job.

  • C. Rommial Butler3 months ago

    To be cornered, even when one corners one's self, must inevitably call to mind the many wise interpretations of the maxim: discretion is the better part of valor! Well-wrought!

  • Very introspective and well written

  • Anna 4 months ago

    That was impressive, I love it!😊

  • Nature Lover4 months ago

    wow

  • Sher4 months ago

    Wow, I love this

  • Lucas4 months ago

    Wow, I liked this poem very much! Thanks for sharing it!

  • Tim Grace4 months ago

    Jack Horner sat in the corner - the source of many a good poem (yours included).

  • Julie Chapman5 months ago

    Whoahhhhhhh....love it! :)

  • Young Andra5 months ago

    I love this!

  • Daphsam5 months ago

    "The only opponent I have Facing me Is myself." Wow that is very powerful words. A truly wonderful poem that speaks to me.

  • Shoaib Shahid5 months ago

    Beautifully crafted!

  • Lisa santos6 months ago

    I love this poem so subtle with a lovely message

  • Moe Radosevich6 months ago

    I really like this, nicely done, I have subscribed to you 😊😊

  • Patrick M. Ohana6 months ago

    I wish that the enemy was only myself. But it is everywhere, chanting, disgustingly working again to annihilate my people. Never again!

  • Sarang Panhwar6 months ago

    this poem is well written keep it up

  • Denise E Lindquist6 months ago

    Thank you ❤️ I relate to being alone in a room with others and I have been my own worst critic. I found a need for others to be my best me.😊💕

  • Shirley Belk6 months ago

    You captured me from beginning to end....well done

  • Babs Iverson6 months ago

    Awesome!!! Wonderfully written and it's inspirational!!!💕❤️❤️

  • J6 months ago

    Love this .

  • Andrei Z.7 months ago

    Well said! While it's nice to stay in your cozy corner, you should never let yourself be cornered!

  • ANFAS8 months ago

    nice

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.