Poets logo

I'm Every Color

I, We

By Dani BananiPublished 3 years ago 2 min read
3
I'm Every Color
Photo by Pawel Czerwinski on Unsplash

If color is nothing but perception of mind, then I am every color. I am the tones of perception that highlight the difference between light and dark, day and night.

I am the concrete sidewalk, always in gray, with flaws that have cracked through the pressures of humans and time.

I am the barn owl singing his tune to the farmers who stayed up a little too late having a few too many under the twinkling lights of the open sky.

I am the river, with a tainted perception from years of pollution, fed chemical deaths and still moving forward.

I am the crown that sits on the hair of royalty, shined with care and passed down through the ages for those who are worthy by blood. Pretty gems, every color.

I am every color.

I am the human who walked that old path so many times that she left damage behind, to revisit daily as time kept passing.

I am the farmer who disrupted that owl, who made him take flight from the raucousness of spirits devoid of all color.

I am the human who threw trash on the ground, who dumped things out. Out of sight, out of mind.

I am the Queen who wears the crown, forgetting the luck of biological inheritance in favor of being beautiful.

I am every color.

I will invite all my loved ones to come together, to paint the beaten path and repair all the damage. They’re every color.

I will sing to the farmers so the owl can take flight to sing to a new audience, so the farmers may smile at my night tune instead. They’re every color.

I will ask all my neighbors to join me, to clean up the Earth. It’s every color.

I will break my crown so that I may share the gems with every color.

We

We are every color.

inspirational
3

About the Creator

Dani Banani

I write through the passion I have for how much the world around me inspires me, and I create so the world inside me can be manifested.

Mom of 4, Birth Mom of 1, LGBTQIA+, I <3 Love.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.